How to make your own toxic free paint.

So, I do have to admit I am one of the mummy’s that don’t really like my son playing with paint, for one I have a phobia of him being near chemicals, and two, because of the mess it normally makes.

However, I thought this summer holiday, I would try out homemade paint which I can be comfortable with him using that (even though he is five) if he was to accidentally put any in his mouth he wouldn’t be poisoned. 

I done a little research into decent recipes, and found this super easy one from kaboutjie.com.

The ingredients:

  • 1 cup of flour (Roughly 240g). 
  • 1 cup of salt (Roughly 300g).
  • 1 cup of water (Roughly 235ml).
  • Food colouring (I used gel colouring).

And simply mix all the ingredients together.

This makes ALOT of mixture, so if you don’t want as much, I would probably experiment with the amount you want. The conversions are off google, so I am unsure about how accurate these conversions are.

PICT0001.JPG

Our paint ~ Stored in little containers, this isn’t all the mixture either!

I found this paint to be just like the paint you buy from the shop, we used it as finger paint and we now have stained fingers because of the colouring, but that’s the fun part of finger painting!

Also the texture is very grainy because of the salt, however it still goes on the paper just like normal paint.

It also drys very quickly, which is handy when your child wants to do lots of pictures like my son did.

For more make your own crafts check out:

play-dough-93165_1920
Vote For Me @ The Top Mommy Blogs Directory Vote For Me @ The Top Mommy Blogs Directory

1 thought on “How to make your own toxic free paint.”

Leave a Reply

